These States Don’t Require Car Insurance
Getting good but cheap car insurance is a surefire way to protect your vehicle in case of an accident. However, not all states require drivers to be insured. Currently, neither Virginia nor New Hampshire mandates that drivers have it. However, there may be other requirements for driving without car insurance. Additionally, these states may soon require drivers to have car insurance.
Virginia requires a fee for drivers without car insurance
Virginia is one of two states that does not require car insurance. However, there is a catch to the state not requiring automotive protection. People who decide not to have car insurance in the state have to pay a $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee. Virginia requires either the fee or basic liability insurance in order to register a vehicle.
However, this is changing soon in the state. According to WSLS, there have been efforts for quite some time for the state to require car insurance. Part of the reason is that the lack of a requirement means that drivers in the state with insurance have to pay more. The news outlet talked to Jill Hufford, who owns an insurance company. She said, “We have young people that are paying $500 a month for insurance. If I hit you and I don’t have insurance and my car is uninsured, your insurance carrier has to pay for your damages.”
She continued, “If we get everybody covered, then the costs will start dropping because everybody will have what they’re supposed to have. Instead of insurance companies trying to go collect their money from people who already didn’t have the money to have insurance to begin with.” Because of the new law, drivers have until July 1, 2024, to get car insurance. This will help lessen the blows of car accidents.
New Hampshire is even less strict on auto insurance
New Hampshire is the only state that does not require car insurance without a fee. The only exception is that drivers who have been convicted of certain driving violations have to have it. These violations include offenses such as driving under the influence, hit-and-runs, a second speeding ticket, or a second warning or ticket for other driving offenses.
Drivers who have to have auto insurance in New Hampshire but fail to maintain it will have harsh penalties. Perhaps the most strict is that those caught without it will have their license and registration suspended. There is also a $125 fee required to reinstate the license and registration. Lastly, they have to get SR-22 insurance after the first offense for three years.
It’s important to keep track of changing laws. New Hampshire could do the same as Virginia and begin to require car insurance.