Book Your Perfect RV Campsite With These Apps and Websites

One of the few good things to come out of the pandemic is that people are falling in love with the outdoors and outdoor activities. As a result, camper and RV sales have been stronger than ever. But there’s one downside to all the camper love: Booking the perfect RV campsite has become challenging. The good news is that the following apps and websites can help you find and reserve a site where you can enjoy an idyllic experience.

Book a national park RV campsite through Recreation.gov

RELATED: Fans of RV and Outdoor Lifestyle Rejoice at Passage of Bill

If your RV camping experiences don’t include time at a U.S. National Park, you have no idea what you’re missing. Recreation.gov is the ideal place to find and reserve a campsite at one of many of the nation’s gems. The website allows you to reserve one of more than 100,000 sites.

The great thing about this website is that it does more than help you reserve a campsite. It also has a wide assortment of tools and resources that you’re free to use. The site has tools that help you plan trip details, rent gear (and even an RV), and reserve tours. 

Because recreation.gov deals with the National Park Service, you’ll need to have an up-to-date National Park Pass.

Use Reserve America to book state parks or even an RV, yurt, or cabin

RELATED: You’ll Want to Park Your RV at One of These Oceanfront RV Campgrounds

As an RV lover, you’ll enjoy using Reserve America to book a campsite at one of the many state parks that are scattered across the country. But that’s not the only thing you can use the website to book. In addition to reserving RV campsites, you can also use the website to book things like yurts and cabins. Booking additional accommodation options makes this a great site to use when you have friends and relatives who want to join you even though they don’t have an RV.

Founded in 1984, Reserve America is credited with being the driving force behind the online camping reservation management concept. The service began taking online reservations in 1997 and has been going strong ever since.

Campendium is a great all-in-one tool

RELATED: These Electric Bicycles Are the Perfect RV Companion Tool

If you’re looking for a comprehensive tool that lets you preview, read reviews, and even take a virtual tour of RV campsites, you’ll love Campendium. The app can help you find a campsite at about 21,000 campgrounds throughout the country. In addition to taking virtual tours of campsites and poring over campers’ reviews, you can also use Campendium to search based on amenities and read helpful articles.

Campendium — whose app description says it’s “created by campers for campers” — can help you find a campsite in any of the lower 48 states and Alaska. It’s available on desktop and mobile devices.

Boondocking can help you find free campsites

RELATED:  Where Can You Park Your RV for Free?

Face it — you camp because you want to get away from everything. Yet some campgrounds are so busy you feel like you’re in the middle of a metropolis. If you’re tired of crowds and tight quarters, consider boondocking, AKA camping in relatively remote areas. And Boondocking is a service that can help you find your ideal RV campsite.

Boondocking doesn’t just help you locate remote spaces where you can camp legally for free. It also helps you confirm the site is vehicle-accessible. That way, you won’t have to worry about whether your RV can reach it. Boondocking also uses GPS to pinpoint the best remote campsites.

So get out there and get camping!