Skip to main content

Hendrick Motorsports announced Tuesday the team is returning to the NASCAR Xfinity Series in 2024. Hendrick will field the No. 17 Chevrolet Camaro in 10 races this season. Its driver lineup will feature all its Cup Series drivers and the return of Xfinity winner and sportscar racing specialist Boris Said.

The No. 17 Chevy begins its 10-race run this season March 9 at Phoenix. Daytona 500 champion William Byron will drive the No. 17. Byron will also race at Darlington (May 11), Pocono (July 13) and Watkins Glen (Sept. 14).

Brandon McSwain, the lead engineer on the No. 24 Cup Series team, will serve as crew chief for Byron’s Xfinity races. Greg Ives will serve as crew chief on the No. 17’s remaining six races.

Kyle Larson will get some additional road racing under his belt in the No. 17. He is scheduled to drive at Circuit of the Americas March 23 and at the Chicago Street Course in July.

Fan favorite Chase Elliott will drive the No. 17 at Charlotte in May and at Darlington in August.

Chase Elliott at the 2024 NASCAR Media Days
Chase Elliott | James Gilbert via Getty Images

Alex Bowman, driver of Hendrick’s No. 48 Cup Series team, is scheduled to enter the Xfinity New Hampshire race June 22.

Another fan favorite, Boris Said, will drive the No. 17 at Sonoma Raceway on June 8. The start could be redemption for his fortunes last season. Said entered the No. 17 in the 2023 Charlotte Road Course race. However, a mechanical issue during qualifying ended Said’s return as he failed to qualify.

The 61-year-old has a long list of sportscar racing success. He’s a two-time 24 Hours of Daytona Class winner, a Rolex Sports Car Series GT champion and a Trans-Am Series champion. Said became the first American driver to win the Nürburgring 24 Hours in 2005.

Said has made 149 starts in NASCAR’s top three series. Given his credentials, many of Said’s NASCAR starts have occurred on road courses, including his sole two wins. Said won the 1998 Truck Series race at Sonoma. His sole Xfinity Series victory was a dramatic, 0.012-second win over Max Papis in the 2010 race at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

Hendrick rejoined the Xfinity Series in 2022 with four races in the No. 17. The team ran six races last year with its Cup drivers. The No. 17 entry has earned six top-five finishes and seven top-10s over the last two years.