What Is Toyota Safety Sense, and What Does It Include?

Many of today’s passenger vehicles come equipped with advanced driving assistance systems (ADAS). These sophisticated systems constantly improve vehicle safety standards and provide safer driving experiences. These car safety systems prevent or mitigate frontal collisions, nighttime mishaps, and unintended lane departures using new and evolving technologies. 

One such system is Toyota Safety Sense. We’ll discuss which features are included with this system and which Toyota models come with it.

Toyota Safety Sense

The folks at Toyota know that a proactive approach to auto accidents is best. The brand’s Safety Sense system is a comprehensive suite of enhanced safety features

Toyota Safety Sense was one of the first driver-assist systems offered. It was designed to help drivers identify potential dangers using cameras, lasers, and radar installed in and around the vehicle’s bumpers, grille, and windshield. Using audible and visual alerts, the system helps you avoid collisions. And if you don’t respond in time, the system will take action and apply the brakes for you.

The latest version of the system, TSS 2.5+, debuted with the 2021 Toyota Camry’s release late last year. The Camry Hybrid also comes with the system’s latest version.

TSS 2.5+ picks up where the previous version left off. According to consumer site J.D. Power, the latest version improves the pre-collision system, including pedestrian detection and automatic emergency braking. It also offers full-speed dynamic radar cruise control, Toyota’s take on adaptive cruise control.

The system continues to feature automatic high-beam headlights, lane-centering assistance, lane-departure warning with lane-keep assistance, road-edge detection, road sign assistance, and steering assistance.

What’s new with Toyota Safety Sense?

What new features are offered in TSS 2.5+? Toyota’s ADAS becomes more proactive with automatic braking technology and forward collision warning. The goal is to optimize the vehicle’s ability to prevent collisions or minimize unavoidable situations.

The system can now detect cyclists and pedestrians, along with other vehicles, in daylight and low-light situations. You’ll receive audio and visual prompts when oncoming cyclists, pedestrians, or vehicles make left-hand turns at intersections. When needed, the system automatically applies the brakes for you.

TSS 2.5+’s adaptive cruise control also now includes new functionality to help you safely and seamlessly execute passing maneuvers. If you’re coming up on a slower-moving vehicle, the system instantly accelerates with steering input once the turn signal is engaged. With the speed increase, you’re ready to safely and competently change lanes. None of the normal lag happens when you slow up behind the other vehicle and then change lanes with standard adaptive cruise control.

The best part? Once you’ve changed lanes, the acceleration remains on until you get back to your preset cruising speed. Once you’ve reestablished that, you can decide when it’s time to return to your original lane or stay where you are. 

Using a radar, camera, and a sophisticated computer with a high-functioning processor, TSS 2.5+ is a comprehensive system that improves on its predecessor and keeps you safe on the road.

Which models have it?


How Does Subaru EyeSight Work?

Following the updated system’s launch in the 2021 Toyota Camry, TSS 2.5+ is also available in the 2021 Highlander and 2021 Highlander Hybrid.

TSS 2.0 is available in the 2021 Corolla, Prius, Prius Prime, Mirai, Sienna, C-HR, RAV4, and Venza. And TSS-P is available in the 2021 Avalon, Land Cruiser, Sequoia, 4Runner, Tacoma, and Tundra.