Skip to main content

One of the most popular vehicles in America is the Jeep Wrangler. Whether you want a capable SUV, a fun off-roader, or just a removable top, the Wrangler does it all. However, there are many different versions of the Jeep SUV. If you’re researching the best trims, you might find that many are available as an Unlimited variant. What is a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited? What does it mean when a trim has the word attached to it? It’s the difference between a two-door and four-door SUV.

What makes a Jeep Wrangler “Unlimited”?

The 2022 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon in red driving. Unlimited Wranglers are four-door SUVs instead of two-door.
The 2022 Jeep Wrangler | Jeep

According to Edmunds, the four-door version of a Jeep Wrangler is called the Unlimited. Some trim levels are available as a standard two-door model. However, upgrading to the Unlimited version turns it into a four-door SUV. Primarily, the two-door Jeep Wrangler is available in two main trim levels, Sport and Rubicon. In addition, Willys Sport, Sport S, Willys, and Altitude are “sub-trims” based on the standard Sport.

However, buyers need to switch to a four-door Unlimited model to get some of the other Wrangler variants. For example, the Sahara, 4xe plug-in hybrid, and Rubicon 392. Basically, every two-door version of the Wrangler can get four doors. It simply changes the title to a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport, Willys, or whichever trim you choose.

How much is a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?

2022 Jeep Wrangler Sahara on a road
2022 Jeep Wrangler Sahara

According to Edmunds, the 2022 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport is the most popular version of the SUV. It’s also the first and cheapest trim level offered with four doors. Before it in the lineup are the Sport, Willys Sport, and Sport S. Then the Unlimited Sport model comes for $35,640. It’s easy to see why this is the most popular version of the off-road SUV. Not only does it come with four doors, but it’s barely more expensive than the Wrangler’s base model.

For $31,590, the cheapest Wrangler Sport comes with two doors. It becomes a four-door model owners can pack their family into for just a few thousand extra dollars. Unfortunately, features and equipment do not change. Paying extra for the Unlimited version only involves paying for the added space and two additional doors. That means even the Unlimited Sport is pretty basic with this small lineup of features:

Is every Wrangler available as an Unlimited?

Fortunately, every version of the Jeep Wrangler is available as an Unlimited model. Only a few trim levels are exclusively available with two doors. Contrarily, the four-door models are plentiful as this version of the Jeep SUV is much more popular. For example, Sport, Willys Sport, Sport S, Sport Altitude, Willys, Sahara, Sport RHD, Sahara Altitude, Rubicon, High Tide, High Altitude, and Rubicon 392 trims are all available as Unlimited models.

Many of the higher trim levels are exclusively available as Unlimited. Counting the plug-in hybrid variant of the Jeep Wrangler, 4xe, eight trims come with only four doors. The Sport is probably the best move if you’re looking for a basic model with two doors and crank windows. However, paying $2,000 extra for the Sport S is probably worth it since it’s the same Wrangler but with power windows and locks. In addition, the Sport S gains air conditioning, a leather-wrapped steering wheel, and alloy wheels.

What is a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited?

In conclusion, a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited is a four-door version of the SUV. Any trim level can come as an Unlimited model for a little extra cash. Even the most basic Sport trim is available as a two or four-door SUV. Alternatively, more costly trims like the Rubicon and Sahara are exclusively available with four doors. Are you interested in a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited midsize SUV?


3 Reasons Not to Buy a 2022 Jeep Wrangler