Skip to main content

Mazda has been a well-known automobile manufacturer producing high-quality cars for over nine decades. Over the years, the line of reliable Mazda models has integrated new technologies, safety, and comfort features to satisfy consumer needs.

One such model that has taken the automobile sector worldwide by storm is the Mazda CX-5. It is an excellent choice for drivers looking for a compact crossover SUV that combines style, performance, and versatility. 

Whether it’s an AWD, turbocharged engine with a trendy style in appearance you’re looking for, the Mazda CX-5 class has you covered.

A quick overview of the Mazda Cx-5

A red 2022 Mazda CX-5 driving down the road.
2022 Mazda CX-5 | Mazda North American Operations

According to Mazda Stories, the CX-5 has been the best-selling of all Mazda’s worldwide. Since its rollout in 2012, the CX5 has clinched the top spot in the U.S., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the Netherlands.

The CX-5 boasts an elegant look and compact design, with crossover-SUV features encompassing style, versatility, and performance. The driving experience invigorates both mind and body of its users, giving a luxurious and comfy ride that is fuel efficient.

But one question that often arises when discussing the Mazda CX-5 is what the letters and numbers in the name actually mean.  

What does CX-5 stand for in the Mazda CX-5?

The “CX” in the Mazda CX-5 stands for “Crossover.” This is because the Mazda CX-5 is a crossover SUV, a type of vehicle that combines the best of both worlds—the versatility and practicality of an SUV with the handling and performance of a sports car. 

The “C” stands for “Crossover,” while the “X” stands for “sports/sports car.” On the other hand, the “5” in the Mazda CX-5 refers to the size and categorization of the car, as well as its position within the Mazda lineup. 

This car model is a compact crossover SUV and is one of three models in the Mazda CX lineup, alongside the CX-3 and CX-9. The “5” in the name indicates that it is the middle-sized model in the lineup, with the CX-3 being the smallest and the CX-9 being the largest.

What is the current state of the new Mazda Cx-5?

Currently, the Mazda CX-5 is in the second generation of the family after a major overhaul of its predecessor to bring a slick, aggressive, and modern look. Autolist’s article on the generation of the CX-5 states that the 2017 makeover brought about four versions of this model. They include; The Sport trim, Touring, Grand Select, and Grand Touring.

Though in 2018 Mazda dropped the Grand select trim, it still remains with three versions installed with standard features across all trims. The features include; Collision warning, Low-speed forward, Blind-sport alert and monitoring, and Rear cross-traffic alert.

Please note that engine horsepower, improved safety, and luxurious specifications differ according to the trim level. As of 2019, the Mazda CX-5 added the Grand touring reserve and Signature as the top-level trims.

Despite not undergoing significant changes in recent years, the Mazda CX-5 remains one of the automaker’s most popular models, offering drivers a great combination of style, performance, and originality. 

The 2017 redesign brought several improvements, including a sleeker and more modern exterior outlook, a more comfy luxurious interior, and improved handling and performance. Not forgetting it’s fuel-efficiency with reliability on all types of roads.

However, with all the significant changes in the trim levels, the Mazda catalog has changed around it by introducing new models such as the CX-30 and CX-50. These new models offer drivers similar performance and versatility as the CX-5 but with a slightly different focus and design.


2023 Hyundai Tucson Has 1 Big Strength Over Mazda CX-5