Third Time, Still a Charm: Subaru Wins Third Consecutive J.D. Power Award

Outdoor enthusiasts and road warriors of all stripes recognize Subaru models as high-performance and high-safety vehicles. Their reliability is legendary. Given the brand’s popularity and reputation, it’s not much of a surprise that Subaru was awarded its third consecutive J.D. Power Award on July 15, 2021. What is surprising is the category. This is the third time in a row that Subaru has earned the J.D. Power Brand Loyalty Award.  Let’s take a closer look at the J.D. Power Awards to understand better why this is such an achievement for Subaru.

Notable awards Subaru has received over the years.

A damaged Subaru Legacy sedan model featured at the 109th Annual Chicago Auto Show
A Subaru Legacy sedan model | Raymond Boyd/Getty Images

Subaru owners love the brand’s all-wheel drive system.  Subaru has now manufactured over 20 million models with AWD.  The highlight of the AWD system is the stability it offers on slick roadways, thanks to its central placement. Subaru prides itself on designing a car around the car’s inhabitants, and the AWD system is an example of this philosophy in action. The passenger-centered design has led to Subaru‘s achievements and recognition, including:

  • Kelley Blue Book’s 2021 Best Performance Brand winner
  • 2021 ALG Residual Value Award
  • ACSI #1 Rank in Vehicle Safety
  • 2021 IIHS Top Safety Pick

J.D. Power believes that competition makes a better product

J.D. Power was founded with the customer’s voice at the forefront of consumer ratings and awards.  The company’s founder believed that if rankings, even in small increments, were made between industry competitors, then products would be improved. Furthermore, if consumers made the ratings, then even better. This means that consumers’ needs remain the center of product development. 

The organization’s high-quality, authoritative rankings are valued across various industries, including telecom, financial services, and healthcare.  It’s important to remember that J.D. Power rates the customer experience with the product.  Therefore, this doesn’t mean that the product is necessarily best in safety or other industrial standards. It means that customers have enjoyed their experience with the product and with the brand. This includes everything from reliability of service, reliability of the product, personalization of services, and overall positivity toward a brand. 

Considering how sensitive some consumers are about vehicles meeting their needs, Subaru’s ability to gain the highest customer loyalty within the auto industry is a notable achievement, indeed. When consumers want changes to products, Subaru delivers. 

Subaru’s brand is safety and reliability


Why Does Consumer Reports Prefer the 2021 Subaru Crosstrek to the 2021 Mazda CX-30?

Not every Subaru model is well received, but you have to give the company credit for trying.  Subaru’s sport coupes, the BRZ, and the WRX have not enjoyed the same popularity as the brand’s SUVs and wagons. Still, with an eye on consumer satisfaction, you can likely expect future models to include upgrades and resets to improve their performance and reliability.

Additionally, be sure to look for Subaru’s all-new electric vehicle, the Solterra, expected to debut in 2022. With the Solterra, drivers can expect the same attention to safety, detail, reliability, and customer satisfaction that Subaru brings to all its products. We’ll see if this new EV hits its stride right away or not until word of mouth spreads positive news throughout the Subaru crowd.

Brand loyalty is a significant achievement because customers who are loyal to a brand promote it by word of mouth.  Their personal experiences are repeated to others, and a brand builds a wide and loyal base. This loyalty is probably one of the reasons why Subaru is willing to take some risks without compromising its status as a safe and reliable brand.

That’s why Subaru has received a multitude of safety awards. The company’s vehicles have received superior ratings from the Insurance Institute of Highway Safety (IIHS) annually. Additionally, Subaru’s Outback, Forester, Ascent, and other models have been awarded high safety ratings (four stars and above) from the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration (NHTSA). There’s no reason to believe that their electric and sports vehicles will fail to deliver similar marks.