Skip to main content

Car safety technology has steadily improved over the past few decades. Advanced driver-assistance systems (ADAS) in particular have helped lower crashes and injuries. One ADAS in particular — Subaru EyeSight — has advanced over the past 15 years. Here’s what you should know about it as the automaker surpasses 5 million Subaru models sold.

Subaru has sold millions of models with EyeSight technology

Subaru models with Subaru EyeSight
Subaru EyeSight’s dual cameras | Subaru of America, Inc.

On Aug. 31, 2022, Subaru announced exciting news: Cumulative sales of EyeSight-equipped vehicles had crossed 5 million models. Subaru EyeSight debuted in Japan in May 2008 and in the United States in the 2013 Legacy and Outback. Since 2013, Subaru has sold 5.7 million cars stateside, GoodCarBadCar data shows. 

“Accomplishing this milestone reflects our commitment to improving and innovating the safety features and technology in our vehicles year over year,” Subaru of America’s president and CEO, Thomas Doll, said in a statement.

What is Subaru EyeSight?

EyeSight began as a safety operating system using stereo cameras. An updated system debuted in 2010 with pre-collision braking control and improved adaptive cruise control. Pre-collision braking control stops the vehicle if a frontal collision risk is detected. Subaru improved its adaptive cruise control to slow or stop the car if a vehicle in front did the same unexpectedly. 

In 2014, the automaker upgraded EyeSight to a color stereo camera. And in 2017, the system got a new Touring Assist function. That included reverse automatic braking

Today, all new models in the Subaru lineup have the most updated version of EyeSight. The company says dual color cameras near the rearview mirror scan the road for potential dangers. Adaptive cruise control, lane-keep assist, pre-collision braking, and pre-collision throttle management are standard features. Select models have advanced adaptive cruise control, which keeps the vehicle centered in the lane and controls the distance from the car ahead.

Which Subaru models come with EyeSight?

Subaru’s current lineup comprises eight models: four cars and four crossover SUVs. Two of the cars — the Impreza and Legacy — include EyeSight as standard equipment. It’s an available feature in the BRZ (automatic transmission models) and WRX. And all four crossovers — the Crosstrek, Forester, Outback, and Ascent — boast EyeSight.

Late-model Subarus are some of the safest cars on the road. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) named two models — the Crosstrek and Impreza four-door wagon with optional front crash prevention and specific headlights — Top Safety Picks. And six models — the Legacy, BRZ, Crosstrek Hybrid, Forester, Outback, and Ascent — earned the highest IIHS designation: Top Safety Pick+. In addition, every 2022 Subaru model tested by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) received a five-star safety rating.

How does EyeSight compare to other car safety systems?

Other automakers have their own ADAS suites. For instance, Honda Sensing and Toyota Safety Sense come standard on those brands’ respective models. 

Honda Sensing includes a collision mitigation braking system (similar to EyeSight’s pre-collision braking), adaptive cruise control, lane-keeping assist, traffic sign recognition, and road departure mitigation.

Toyota Safety Sense includes a pre-collision system with pedestrian detection, dynamic radar cruise control, lane-departure alert, automatic high beams, lane-tracing assist, and road sign assist.

Subaru EyeSight is a good car safety suite, but Honda’s and Toyota’s ADAS offer more features overall.


How Many Miles Will a Subaru Last?