Skip to main content

Safety is a priority whenever we drive on the road. The Audi e-tron and Audi Q8 luxury SUVs are the only large SUV models to earn top honors in the large SUV category. Vehicles today come equipped with features that not only protect us but keep us out of harm’s way. The various warnings, interventions, and avoidance features we discuss in the automotive world save lives and millions of dollars in potential damage costs each year.

What levels did the Audi e-tron and Audi Q8 achieve?

Blue 2022 Audi e-tron SUV Posed
2022 Audi e-tron SUV | Audi

The IIHS Large SUV category safety winners are all Audi models. For 2022, the Audi e-tron earned the Top Safety Pick+ award and the Audi Q8 reached the level of Top Safety Pick. The distinction between these two ratings is found in the headlights, which are slightly better and come standard for the e-tron models.

What is the Audi e-tron luxury SUV?

2022 Audi e-tron Sportback Large SUV
2022 Audi e-tron Sportback Large SUV | Audi

The e-tron name is tossed about quite often for Audi. This name shows up on the e-tron GT, which is a high-performance electric sedan, and it’s used in the Q4 e-tron which is a small electric SUV. The traditional version of the e-tron is for a two-row crossover SUV that offers roomy seating areas for you to have the luxury ride you desire. The 2022 e-tron SUV sits between the Q5 and Q7 when speaking about the size of the vehicle.

You’ll find two versions of the Audi e-tron, both of which received the IIHS Top Safety Pick+ distinction. The Sportback model has a sloping roofline that cuts into the cargo room while offering a sleek design. This model appears to be a sports car that’s lifted up above the ground. The regular version of this large SUV has a traditional appearance and offers plenty of cargo space for five people to take along everything needed.

What is the Audi Q8?

2022 Audi Q8 Large SUV
2022 Audi Q8 Large SUV | Audi

The Audi Q8 is hardly a large SUV, but it’s been classified as such because of its flagship name. The Q8 represents the top model in the Audi lineup, giving you the performance and luxury qualities you desire. You’ll have comfortable seats across two rows to keep everyone happy during the drive.

The body style of the Q8 mimics that of the Sportback e-tron. The sloping roofline gives the Q8 the coupe-like appearance you want to see, even if it takes away from the cargo area. Strangely, the Audi Q8 is not the largest luxury SUV in the lineup. That distinction belongs to the Q7 which rides on the same platform and offers a large SUV appearance.

What safety features do these large Audi SUV models offer?

These two SUVs earned the top safety rating, meaning they have the features we want when looking for a safe and secure drive. Here’s what you’ll find in both SUVs:

  • Forward-collision warning
  • Automatic emergency braking
  • Rear cross-traffic alert
  • Blind-spot monitoring
  • Parking sensors
  • Lane-departure warning
  • Adaptive cruise control
  • Digital Matrix LED headlights (optional for the Q8)
  • Top-view camera system
  • Automatic high beams
  • Traffic jam assist
  • Active lane assist

As you can see, this is a comprehensive list of features that can keep you safe while behind the wheel of your large luxury SUV.

Next, take a look at six reasons you’ll want to buy the Acura RDX, or watch the Audi Q8 safety video below:

Audi Q8 Large SUV Crash Test Video

This article was updated on 8/1/2022.


2023 Toyota Tacoma TRD Pro: This is a Serious Off-Road Truck